Banner 4
Select another country

After the signing of the Comprehensive Peace Agreement between the Sudanese Government and the Popular Movement for the Liberation of Sudan after 25 years of civil war in southern Sudan, the country issued the Central Bank of Sudan Act (Amendment) Act 2006 and created a dual banking system: Islamic in the north of Sudan, while traditional in the south.

The system of the National Bank of Sudan of the year 2006 has become considered one of the strongest banking systems operating in Sudan. Its administration is run and managed by Lebanon's Banque Audi, which has about 76.56% share, according to statistical year in 2008.

Bank of Sudan is the central bank of the Sudan which carries out its functions of regulating currency issuance, planning monetary and financial policies to serve economic sectors and building a strong banking system capable of responding to the economic development needs in the country. The bank was formed in 1960, four years after Sudan's independence. It is located in Khartoum and its governor is currently Sabir Mohammed Hassan who has been assuming the position since 1998.

Sudan Banks

There are a number of licensed commercial and specialized banks operating in Sudan. The commercial banks include: Ivory Bank, Omdurman National Bank, Bank of Khartoum, Faisal Islamic Bank, Sudanese French Bank, National Bank of Sudan, Blue Nile Mashreq Bank , Sudanese Islamic Bank, Tadamon Islamic Bank, Islamic Co-operative Development Bank, Baraka Bank (Sudan), Export Development Bank, Workers’ National Bank, Byblos Bank( Africa), Emirates & Sudan Bank.

The specialized banks operating in Sudan are: Agricultural Bank, Savings and Social Development Bank, Industrial Development Bank and Financial Investment Bank.


The Sudanese Pound (code: SDG) is the official currency of Sudan. Arabic names for the denominations appear on Sudanese coins, whilst both Arabic and English appear on the country's banknotes. Arabic for the Sudanese pound is جنيه سوداني (junaih). The currency’s subunit is the qirush (piaster). The banknotes being circulated are the 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 pounds, whereas the issued coins are the 1, 5, 10, 20 and 50 qirush.

The Sudanese pound per US$ rate is 2.37 (2010). The inflation rate in Sudan was 11.2% in 2009.

Back to top>